• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content

Millburn-Short Hills Historical Society

  • About
    • Trustees
  • Explore
    • The Archive
    • The Map Room
    • The Thistle
  • Community Projects
    • Virtual Walking Tours
    • Historical Interviews
    • Special Places Reports
  • Exhibitions
    • Millburn and The Civil War
  • News
  • Become a Member
  • Donate
  • About
    • Trustees
  • Explore
    • The Archive
    • The Map Room
    • The Thistle
  • Community Projects
    • Virtual Walking Tours
    • Historical Interviews
    • Special Places Reports
  • Exhibitions
    • Millburn and The Civil War
  • News
  • Become a Member
  • Donate

Archive Entry

Archive Entry

Go back
Prev Item Next Item

51 Old Short Hills Road, c. 1834

Photograph
Photographs taken by Owen Lampe in August 1975. Stop #1 on the Old Short Hills Road Walking Tour. The age of the building is uncertain. According to township records, it was built in 1754. It appears on the early Whtlock map of Millburn Township, from 1859. Most likely, it was an 18th century farmhouse that was remodelled in the first half of the 19th century to the 19th century vernacular style in the photograph. The house was used as the manse of St. Stephen's church from 1851 to 1856. It was owned by the Parkhurst family from 1899 to 1947. According to a document in the museum archives, the current house dates to 1834 and was owned by C. L Keller.

2024.026.040

Color Slide

Owen Lampe Slides

2024.026

         51 Old Short Hills Road, c. 1834 picture number 1
         51 Old Short Hills Road, c. 1834 picture number 1
            51 Old Short Hills Road, c. 1834 picture number 2

PO Box 243 | Short Hills, NJ 07078 | phone: (973) 327-3258 | email: info@mshhistsoc.org PO Box 243
Short Hills, NJ 07078
phone: 973-327-3258
© 2026 The Millburn–Short Hills Historical Society | Privacy Policy
Website Designed and Developed by New Frontier, Millburn NJ