• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content

Millburn-Short Hills Historical Society

  • About
    • Trustees
  • Explore
    • The Archive
    • The Map Room
    • The Thistle
  • Community Projects
    • Virtual Walking Tours
    • Historical Interviews
    • Special Places Reports
  • Exhibitions
    • Millburn and The Civil War
  • News
  • Become a Member
  • Donate
  • About
    • Trustees
  • Explore
    • The Archive
    • The Map Room
    • The Thistle
  • Community Projects
    • Virtual Walking Tours
    • Historical Interviews
    • Special Places Reports
  • Exhibitions
    • Millburn and The Civil War
  • News
  • Become a Member
  • Donate

Archive Entry

Archive Entry

Go back
Prev Item Next Item

59 Old Short Hills Road, c. 1810

Photograph
Photographs of 59 Old Short Hills Road taken by Owen Lampe in July 1975. Stop #4 on the Old Short Hills Road Walking Tour. The house has had several additions. The date of the earliest portion is uncertain. The town has records of ownership of the property from 1780. In 1810, Koezia Parcell sold 5 acres of land at this location to David Dean. It is unknown if there was a building on the land at this time or if any portion of a building remains. Interior fireplaces indicate that the rear portion of the house dates from the Colonial Period and the front half from the Victorian period.

2024.026.108

Color Slide

Owen Lampe Slides

2024.026

         59 Old Short Hills Road, c. 1810 picture number 1
         59 Old Short Hills Road, c. 1810 picture number 1
            Barn for 59 Old Short Hills Road
            Later Tighe Addition and Garden
            Victorian Interior with Tighe DeskPHot

PO Box 243 | Short Hills, NJ 07078 | phone: (973) 327-3258 | email: info@mshhistsoc.org PO Box 243
Short Hills, NJ 07078
phone: 973-327-3258
© 2026 The Millburn–Short Hills Historical Society | Privacy Policy
Website Designed and Developed by New Frontier, Millburn NJ