• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content

Millburn-Short Hills Historical Society

  • About
    • Trustees
  • Explore
    • The Archive
    • The Map Room
    • The Thistle
  • Community Projects
    • Virtual Walking Tours
    • Historical Interviews
    • Special Places Reports
  • Exhibitions
    • Millburn and The Civil War
  • News
  • Become a Member
  • Donate
  • About
    • Trustees
  • Explore
    • The Archive
    • The Map Room
    • The Thistle
  • Community Projects
    • Virtual Walking Tours
    • Historical Interviews
    • Special Places Reports
  • Exhibitions
    • Millburn and The Civil War
  • News
  • Become a Member
  • Donate

Archive Entry

Archive Entry

Go back
Prev Item Next Item

423 White Oak Ridge Road, 1702

Photograph
Photograph of the Parsil House at 423 White Oak Ridge Road. Demolished in c. 2011. Inscription on back of photograph says "Parsil-Ross House," 1702. This was the original house of Nicholas Parcel lived and died against the tree out back a few days after the Battle of Connecticut Farms. The house was very small, only approx. 30' x 30' - consistent with being the first house built. His brother, Thomas Parsil, had a larger house at 379 White Oak Ridge Road, built in 1709, which still stands (2026).

2022.229.001

2022.229

5 in

7 in

         423 White Oak Ridge Road, 1702 picture number 1
         423 White Oak Ridge Road, 1702 picture number 1
            423 White Oak Ridge Road, 1702 picture number 2
            423 White Oak Ridge Road, 1702 picture number 3

PO Box 243 | Short Hills, NJ 07078 | phone: (973) 327-3258 | email: info@mshhistsoc.org PO Box 243
Short Hills, NJ 07078
phone: 973-327-3258
© 2026 The Millburn–Short Hills Historical Society | Privacy Policy
Website Designed and Developed by New Frontier, Millburn NJ